Retrieve lost password in joomla :)

Last day I got a site which is joomla based but i didn’t get the password. They said it that, they would give the result a few days later. Except the joomla admin  password I got everything. So I think to do some tiktak with this thing ;). I downloaded all the contents in my localhost with database. And then start googling. After googling, I found out that, Joomla using MD5 encryption technique. That means, the password which you have given is converted to MD5 result. Then I am looking for a MD5 generator. There’s a lot of MD5 generator is available in website. One of the best site is http://pajhome.org.uk/crypt/md5/. From here I generate my own password in MD5 format. Next I went to the database’s jos_users table. There I changed the password in respective user. And what I saw, it works excellently. Before doing this have a backup of your database for safety purpose.

Leave a Reply

